3 silver plated commemorative medals and rose scented rosary as a gift.

EUR 49,90

3 commemorative medals of the pontificates of John Paul II, Benedict XVI and Francis, silver plated and Rosary with rose scented beads as a gift..

  • Medals in Silver plated .999
  • Minted en 2013
  • Diameter: 38mm
  • Mintage: 2500 pcs

John Paul II, secular name Karol Józef Wojtya (Wadowice, Poland, May 18, 1920 - Vatican City, April 2, 2005), was the 264th pope of the Catholic Church and head of state of the Vatican City from October 16, 1978 until his death in 2005.

Among the most notorious events of his pontificate was the assassination attempt he suffered on May 13, 1981, while greeting the faithful in St. Peter's Square, at the hands of Mehmet Ali Agca, who shot him at close range in the crowd. Some time later the terrorist was publicly pardoned by the pontiff himself. To this was added another attack that occurred in Fatima on the night of May 12-13, 1982 at the hands of the ultraconservative priest Juan María Fernández Krohn, a fact that did not come to light until after the death of the pontiff.

On September 30, 2013, Pope Francis announced that John Paul II would be proclaimed a saint at the same time as John XXIII in a joint ceremony on April 27, 2014.

Benedict XVI, whose secular name was Joseph Aloisius Ratzinger (Marktl am Inn, Bavaria, Germany, April 16, 1927), was the 265th Supreme Pontiff of the Catholic Church and head of state of the Vatican City. He was elected on April 19, 2005, after the death of John Paul II, by the cardinals who voted in conclave.

On February 28, 2013, he retired and assumed the title of pope emeritus, intending to devote himself to prayer and spiritual retreat. His resignation was announced by himself days before, on February 11, an exceptional decision in the history of the papacy
Although the closest Supreme Pontiff to resignation was Gregory XII (1415), the precedent of Celestine V (1294) is the only one whose resignation can be said to have been free and voluntary.

Almost two weeks after retiring from Vatican City, 115 cardinals elected in the 2013 conclave the Argentine Jorge Mario Bergoglio, who took office under the name Francis.

Francesco (Jorge Mario Bergoglio), born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, on December 17, 1936. He is the 266th Pope of the Catholic Church and head of state of the Vatican City. He was elected on March 13, 2013 by the members of the College of Cardinals, following the resignation of Benedict XVI, on the fifth ballot of the second day of conclave.

He is the first American pontiff and the first who is not a native of Europe, the Middle East or North Africa; likewise, he is the first Hispanic pontiff since Alexander VI and the first non-European since 741, the year in which Gregory III, who was of Syrian origin, died. He is also the first pope belonging to the Society of Jesus.
Previously, after the death of Pope John Paul II, he was considered one of the candidates to take the place of the supreme pontiff, a position to which Joseph Ratzinger, who adopted the papal name of Benedict XVI, was finally elected.